The new regions in France


With a total of 96 départements (counties) in France, including Corsica, falling under 22 administrative regions, France has reorganised and trimmed down the number of its regions to 13 with the objective of reducing the administrative layers, bureaucracy and costs.

After much debate and public consultation, 6 regions remain unchanged and the other 16 were merged, creating 7 new regions with some changing their capital cities; for example Languedoc-Roussillon merged with Midi-Pyrénées and is now called Occitanie with its administrative capital relocated from Montpellier to Toulouse

This new organisation was adopted by the Assemblée Nationale in January 2016 and awaits to be ratified by the Conseil d'Etat on 1st October 2016.

What follows will no doubt take time, but the newly merged and decentralised regions will have administrative functions that overlap which will need to be addressed.

While the current departments remain unchanged for the moment, any departments can voluntarily merge with another between 2016 and 2019 and so the map of France could continue to change in the following years.

Region Name Capital Information
Grand Est Strasbourg Fusion of Alsace-Lorraine and Champagne-Ardenne
Bourgogne-Franche-Comté Dijon Fusion of Burgundy and Franche-Comté
Auvergne-Rhône-Alpes Lyon Fusion of Auvergne and Rhône-Alpes
Provence-Alpes-Côte d’Azur Nice Unchanged
Occitanie Toulouse Fusion of Languedoc-Roussillon and Midi-Pyrénées
Nouvelle Aquitaine Bordeaux Fusion of 3 regions Aquitaine, Limousin and Poitou-Charentes
Pays de la Loire Nantes Unchanged
Bretagne Rennes Unchanged
Normandie Rouen Fusion of Basse-Normandie and Haute-Normandie
Hauts-de-France Lille Fusion of Nord-Pas-de-Calais and Picardie
Île de France Paris Unchanged
Centre-Val de Loire Orléans Only the name has been changed
Corse Ajaccio Corsica